Connect with us

The Guardians of Democracy

The Guardians of Democracy

Sen. Feinstein: Senate Should Follow ‘McConnell Standard’ And Delay Vote On Supreme Court Nominee


Sen. Feinstein: Senate Should Follow ‘McConnell Standard’ And Delay Vote On Supreme Court Nominee

Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), the top Democrat on the Senate Judiciary Committee, said the Senate should follow the “McConnell standard” and wait until after the midterm elections to vote on a Supreme Court justice that will replace retiring Justice Anthony Kennedy.

“Leader McConnell set that standard in 2016 when he denied Judge Garland a hearing for nearly a year, and the Senate should follow the McConnell Standard,” Feinstein said.

Justice Anthony Kennedy, a key swing vote on the Supreme Court, announced his retirement on Wednesday.

Senate Republican Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.) announced shortly afterwards that he plans for the Senate to vote “this fall” on Kennedy’s successor.

“We’re now four months away from an election to determine the party that will control the Senate,” Feinstein added. “There should be no consideration of a Supreme Court nominee until the American people have a chance to weigh in.”

Senate Democratic Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (N.Y.) said it would be the “height of hypocrisy” for Republicans to vote on a Supreme Court nominee before the midterm elections.

Sen. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) said in a statement that McConnell set the “new standard by giving the American people their say in the upcoming election before court vacancies are filled.”

“The U.S. Senate must be consistent and consider the president’s nominee once the new Congress is seated in January,” he added.

The Hill added:

Garland, President Obama’s nominee for the Supreme Court, had her nomination blocked in 2016 by McConnell. The GOP leader argued that voters should have the chance to weigh in on what they’d desire for the court in the 2016 presidential election.

The move allowed for Trump to nominate Justice Neil Gorsuch to the court shortly after taking office in 2017.




To Top